Rate this book:

,

24
1

Description, Categories and Awards

Description

In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller "No Child of Mine, " author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel--perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult--of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together. Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she's landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte's birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte's life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart. But the horrors of the past--both recent and long buried--are never far from Charlotte's mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte's strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart. Praise for "Don't Let Me Go" "An emotionally complex novel."--"USA Today" "Unputdownable . . . a compelling blend of family dynamics, courtroom drama, and love story."--"Booklist" "You know you're in the hands of a master storyteller when you can't bear the tension. Susan Lewis drops you into a nightmare where the best interests of a child collide with the law designed to protect her. The endearing little girl at the center of this poignant and gripping tale, as well as the brave protagonist, will win your heart."--Diane Chamberlain, internationally bestselling author of "The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes" "A gripping tale that pulls you in from the first chapter to the end, "Don't Let Me Go" is a read that will remind you just how precious children are."--Romance Reviews Today Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. "From the Trade Paperback edition."

Categories

Popular Fiction
BookMusterDownUnder
What do you do when your good intentions are not seen as such in the eyes of the legal system?

From the beautiful countryside of Te Puna in New Zealand to the inclement weather of the United Kingdom, child abuse to child kidnapping, this story takes us on a compelling journey in which we get to see first hand the guilt suffered by one woman and the pain and abject fear suffered by a young child who has no control over her own destiny.

Charlotte Nicholls, still trying to come to grips with her own family history after reuniting with her biological mother, has now settled in New Zealand in an attempt to build a positive family life for herself and Chloe. Constantly fearful that her unlawful actions will be discovered, she does everything in her power to protect Chloe, but when one perfectly innocent friendship stirs up a hornets’ nest, the unthinkable happens and both Charlotte and Chloe are swept up into a seemingly awful nightmare – one where Charlotte’s greatest fear is realised and the well-being of Chloe’s mental health is at risk with her trying to understand why her mother has allowed this to happen.

With a court-room drama looming before her and the prospect of true love in the offing, will Charlotte be able to convince a jury that whilst her actions were unlawful, they were always in the best interests of the child?

While this is the sequel to No Child of Mine and not having read anything by this author before, besides adding a whole lot of graphic content and a bit more depth to the reasons behind them fleeing England, Susan Lewis has done a great job of fleshing her characters out that in no way did I feel I had missed anything from the first novel. Needless to say, much like Jodi Picoult, Ms Lewis tackles subjects that are extremely controversial and pulls no punches with the subject matter which, at times, can be confronting - in this case, child abuse, and the ramifications of one woman’s actions to try and protect a child in the only way she knows how.

Being a mother myself, child abuse is a reality I have always feared and I take my hat off to all child protection agents out there who bear witness to these despicable acts perpetrated against children on a daily basis but who somehow find the strength to fight to the bitter end for justice on behalf of those young victims.

Although I did initially struggle with Ms Lewis’ style of writing, I’m glad that I persevered with the novel since, having spent the majority of my working life as personal assistant to a variety of Barristers in South Africa (Senior Counsel being the closest I got to a Queen’s Counsel (QC)), I could understand the legal procedures behind the courtroom battle and relate so well to the hard work that goes into consulting, drafting papers and calling witnesses, and the author is to be commended for so skilfully drawing me in to Charlotte and Chloe’s world where I was able to experience both heart-wrenching and warm moments, some of which had me reaching for the tissues.

Unsettling and suspenseful with a steely core of gritty reality beneath it, Don’t Let Me Go is a story which places emphasis on the fragility of trust as well as the strength of love and one which will leaving you questioning what you would have done in a similar situation!

Suggested Reading

Does This Beach Make Me Look Fat?

True Stories and Confessions

3 Ratings